View Full Version : Who Hosts your Club Web-Site?
Chris
04-01-2001, 09:02 AM
Our club site is hosted free of charge by a local provider Guernsey.Net (http://www.guernsey.net).
The domain name was provided free of charge by ChannelNames.com (http://www.channelnames.com) - who wants a .org.gg domain anyway? I'm not surprised they're giving them away!!!
The SwimClub.co.uk site is being hosted by HubNut (http://www.hubnut.net). They're always very helpful (particularly when I'm making a mess of things!) and I can throroughly recommend them.
------------------
Chris (Webmaster)
Beau Sejour Barracudas Swimming Club - Guernsey
http://www.barracudas-sc.org.gg/
BigFish
04-01-2001, 06:31 PM
The <a href="http://www.dartes.co.uk">Dartes</A> website is hosted by Sheffield's finest, <a href="http://www.plus.net">PlusNet</a> (aka Free-online, Force9, etc). Unlimited webspace comes as standard on all their dial-ups accounts.
The SurfTime accounts also provide more advanced features such as CGI and a MySQL database :-)
Plusnet do have their share of problems, but for the price you can't beat the features.
The domain name came free with the account.
------------------
David Cuthbert (www.dartes.co.uk)
news@DaveC.org.uk
[This message has been edited by BigFish (edited 04 January 2001).]
The domain names for www.BarnetCopthall.com and www.UptheBeavers.com were both purchased from www.freeparking.co.uk (£29.98 each for 2 years)
www.BarnetCopthall.com is hosted on the freely provided Freeserve webspace. (30mb free to Freeserve subscribers)
www.UptheBeavers.com is far more popular / demanding and so is hosted by www.fasthosts.co.uk (100mb for £19.99 per year).
GettingFaster
20-11-2003, 01:09 PM
Ivor, upthebeavers.com HAS to be the best swimming website ever (held jointly with swimclub and pullbuoy, of course!)
Anyone visiting, make sure you read the small print on the entry page.
And the FAQ's, and just about everything. Haven't laughed so much in ages (since I last read the site in fact!)
I don't know if this is reevant at all because I don't really understand but our YE company's is hosted by Cable and Wireless GSY, I think that is right? Is it? It's free as well.
* relevant - that bit was because it isn't a club site
I wish we could edit posts :rolleyes: Can I actually do that or am I just being really stupid?
GettingFaster
20-11-2003, 05:34 PM
You're just being really stupid. Look at the bottom right of the post. See the button that says quote? Well right beside it is one that says edit. Click on it.
;)
Yeah well is it meant to say this when I try to edit?
'You do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons: '
That's why i was asking
GettingFaster
20-11-2003, 09:17 PM
You can only edit your own. Chris, haven't you taught the boy anything?!
KatieBun
20-11-2003, 10:18 PM
Hey, GF, there are tons of things I can't do here and I'm highly embarrassed about them. I may have to succumb to a PM to ask you some knotty questions!
GettingFaster
20-11-2003, 11:06 PM
Knotty questions answered, KB me ole fruit, see your PM.
So who's had a look at www.UpTheBeavers.com (http://www.upthebeavers.com) yet?
chlorine_babe
21-11-2003, 08:05 AM
Just been on it really good website I like the small print at the start.
Chris
21-11-2003, 08:20 AM
Originally posted by GettingFaster
You can only edit your own. Chris, haven't you taught the boy anything?!
He's a lost cause GF!!!
lane4
21-11-2003, 09:04 AM
Originally posted by Chris
Our club site is hosted free of charge by a local provider Guernsey.Net (http://www.guernsey.net).
The SwimClub.co.uk site is being hosted by HubNut (http://www.hubnut.net). They're always very helpful (particularly when I'm making a mess of things!) and I can throroughly recommend them.
Chris, did you not previously use 34sp.com? If so, why have you dropped them?
stevenewman1
21-11-2003, 09:06 AM
www.harlowpenguins.com
The domain name was free but we paid £110 a year for hosting with 123 Web Hosting UK. I went to these people as they accepted Frontpage uploads. To anyone who feels daunted it is quite an easy process.
Chris
21-11-2003, 01:45 PM
Originally posted by lane4
Chris, did you not previously use 34sp.com? If so, why have you dropped them?
The post at the top of this thread was from January 2001 lane4, so no I haven't changed.
Still very happy with www.34sp.com :D
No seriously I can't edit my own either
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.